Skip to content

RARE: release Dec. 2019

RARE album front cover

2019: RARE a new album of seven recently penned songs from Caedmon’s 1978 line up: Angela Webb (Naylor), Jim Bisset, Ken Patterson, Sam Wilson and Simon Jaquet. Plus six songs from Netherbow recordings of 1975 and Haddington, live 1978. And a surprise.

The much loved fragile female vocals, searing electric guitar licks, ‘cello, mandolin and bass remain from the ’70’s sound; now supplemented with octave mandolin, accordion, djembe, flugel horn, and whistle. Caroline Brown and Sally Jaquet add to the vocal sound.

40+ years on from their eponymous album ‘Caedmon’ and 10 years on from “A Chicken to Hug’, the new songs echo the acid folk sound of the ’70s but has a contemporary feel. Folk meets laid back funk where Jim Bisset’s electric guitar cuts through the acoustic feel.

The album is available as a collectors’ limited 500 edition on vinyl including a 12″ LP and a 7” single.
Some CD digipak versions have been made, and the album will be available on most streaming sites to download.

Buy now

Cross Rhythms Review 2019

Track Listing

  1. Dream of the Rood
  2. Go!
  3. Sky Song
  4. Runaway
  5. Mustard Seed
  6. RARE
  7. Peace
  8. London Psalm
  9. Death Knot
  10. God is Love
  11. Born to Die
  12. Tears may Linger
  13. Now the Green Blade Riseth
  14. Heaven Haven (unlisted track)


Download RARE Lyrics Insert png

Listen now


1 thought on “RARE: release Dec. 2019”

  1. Hello. There were 2 older songs uploaded on YouTube recently. One was about Simon. What is that one called and where can I buy it? I believe it was a 45 side. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *